Search This Blog

Pages

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Holiday IMperfection

Everyone spends the holiday season frantic worrying about baking, decorating, shopping and sending cards. I try to and have for the last couple of years tried to enjoy the season a bit more.  I look at it this way....the things will get done....eventually.  I enjoy the shopping but don't want to be stressed when I do it so if I find a gift I would like....I think you'll like it too.  As far as gift wrap is concerned.....God Bless those gift bags.  This makes the perfect gift.  My decorating will be done before the big day arrives....and yes, it may be as late as the 20, 21, 22, 23 or even the 24th....but either way I will enjoy my decorations.  As far as baking is concerned.....I just don't do it.  Now Martha Stewart don't you shutter....a holiday as big as this can occur and someone can NOT bake.  Actually, I am not telling the truth....do the cookies that you buy and can break off and bake count...cause if so, I found some pretty damn good ginger ones the other day....and guess what?....we ate them all already!  It's not that I am NOT capable ....it's that I choose not to stress myself out during this time of  the year.  What would I rather be doing instead.....enjoying National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation, Christmas Story or Funny Farm.....just to name a few of the good Christmas movies; relaxing while out on that shopping trip and looking at things I like as well, or spending time out to dinner with friends and family.

For those of you who must stress yourself out this time of year.....stop.  The holiday is really much more enjoyable when you just take it all in stride.  I am happy for those who put their decorations up early outside cause as I ride by....I thoroughly enjoy them and I wonder if the person inside is opening the oven to a fresh baked cookie and they are harried and stressed...while trying to wrap gifts and write cards all at the same time.  I just refuse to do this to myself and it will all get done in MY GOOD TIME.  Anyway...like they say....you need to take time to smell the roses....or in this case the Christmas tree....sit back and enjoy it cause it really can be fun and enjoyable when you allow it to be.  I hope everyone has a very Merry Christmas.

Monday, November 29, 2010

Parenting Teens...

My kids are both teens (19 and 16) and I often wonder.....are we really good parents?  Do we do the right things?  Do we say the right things?  Should we have done this different?

As a parent it is difficult to know whether what you are doing/or have done is "right" or not.  We hope we did yet we often look back and question ourselves as to whether we are good parents or not.  I think we are.  We have a good base....2 boys who have both maintained good grades....the boys basically get along and now that they are in their teens they tend to rely on each other.....even if it is just to say "hey, can you believe what Mom and Dad are telling me"....LOL.  I have witnessed for myself that they both have shown compassion towards aging family members by lending a hand and also to an ill family pet,  they basically will do things for me when I really need their help, yet they have & continue to do things that all typical teens do...but who's kid hasn't?  As parents we tend to all butt heads with our teens now and again but I am looking at this as normal.  Who's kid has not argued the reason for the curfew, why I can't go here or there, why don't you agree with my point of view, religion, politics and life in general.........and so on, and so on?

I have questioned myself like this many times but honestly I think (I hope) we have done the absolute best we could and gave our kids way more than we ever had and better opportunities than either of us have ever experienced.  This alone is something that I hope they truly appreciate.  I think all teens tend to make their parents question themselves at one time or another.  I would like to believe I am not alone.  Am I?

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Thankful for....

Thankful for....

1.  My hubby, my kids, my family and all extended family members.

2.  Our health and we hope/pray everyday that everyone remains healthy.

3.  Work - we're both fortunate enough to have jobs & the fact that we don't have to work on major holidays.

4.  On a lighter note...the fact that my new heater will be installed on Monday!

5.  The cute little pooch who follows me around the house.

6.  And so so so much more!

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

Saturday, November 20, 2010

This is how the Pioneers did it....

I am starting to get the hang of this thing where we have no heater.  With our busy schedules and having people come in and giving us estimates and trying to narrow down which heater best suits us...it has been a long process.  We made our decision now and we are waiting for final installation date now.

As I was saying......I am starting to get used to it.  I am actually thinking this is it what it was like many many many years ago.  I wake early in the morning and fire up the gas fireplace then I hop back into bed to warm up and until the rest of the house reaches a good temp.  We leave it running full blast until we go out then off it goes.  Returning home...it's back on again.....then off at bedtime and the cycle begins again on another day.

Only difference is many moons ago it would be a wood burning fireplace and some poor sap probably had to run outside to get another log!  At least I am just throwing on a jacket firing up the heat and running back to a warm bed.   I guess I should thank my lucky stars I am not churning the butter and making the dough for the bread.

Saturday, November 13, 2010

What I have learned recently:

When times are tough, strong families stick together.

There are people out there who will always “help” you and that person will surprise you.

Parents will do anything for their child no matter what their age.

There is no greater pleasure than to see the bond that has formed between your children.

I never thought I could love my family more but with each passing crisis or situation it becomes more apparent to me just how strong my love for my family is.


Saturday, November 6, 2010

Goodbye Europe

Dam....we waited as long as possible this year to turn our heat on.  Finally turned it on last week only to discover that our house was cold in the morning.  Repair man came last night and said it was DEAD.  Ugh.....now we have the undaunting task of getting prices for a new heater but we can't drag our feet too long as the temps will continue to plummet.  We do have a gas fireplace on our front porch which has been our salvation.

This really bugs the hell out of me cause I was attempting to save money for a trip to Europe while my son was over there and as it is already it has been a struggle.  Right now we need a new dishwasher and a new fridge.  Talk about everything falling all apart at once!!!  Why...why...why now must our heat go on us!!

I suppose we could all sleep around the fireplace the entire winter and then enjoy a nice trip to Europe?  And hey, who needs clean dishes and cold food?  Unfortunately my more practical side is kicking me in the ass and saying.....YOU DO!!

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

A very special Aunt

My last post was about my birthday dinner.  My birthday followed that following Tuesday and it started as a good day with well wishes and gifts from co-workers.....I love that we celebrate our birthdays like this...we are always like kids when we get our gifts.  The afternoon was a little less joyful...while eating lunch I received a call that a very special Aunt had died.  I was heartbroken.

She had a very special place in my heart.  She was my husband's Aunt and while we were dating and I was working at a Camp (in the Camp office) she would bring my husband there to go swimming with me while I was on break.  I always thought that was the sweetest thing for her to do...so thoughtful and considerate.  Her kindness did not end there you see....she was kind to everyone, she cared about everyone and she gave, gave, gave of herself.  She is someone you will just never forget.  She immersed herself in her family but anyone she knew that needed a helping hand she was always there for them.  She was always happy and cheerful no matter what her troubles were and never had an unkind word for anyone.  I feel truly blessed having known her and I feel as I look back on her life......that it makes me want to be a better person.  To take the time to help people more, to be cheerful as much as possible, to make others happy with small things and to try not to get angry over anything.

Aunt Ethel was an Angel on earth and I am truly convinced she is now flying among the Angels up above.  She will be truly missed on earth and even though she left us too soon she certainly left a lasting impression.

Missed but never forgotten.............  

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Moments...

Moments with my family (just the 4 of us) are now to treasure.  My oldest son is usually at college and my youngest is usually off with his friends.  So knowing that my birthday was coming (not until Tuesday) and my oldest son was coming home from college on Friday...I planned a dinner for all 4 of us to go out together last night.  My hubby asked me what I wanted for my birthday and I told him....dinner with the boys.  You have no idea how much that dinner satisfied me.  I love having those dinners with my kids.   I love watching the boys banter a bit with each other...and hearing them talk together...it's nice.

It made me realize that stolen moments like these are to treasure and as we age they become less and less because everyone is growing and involved in their own lives.  It makes me realize how excited my Mom (she's 88) must get every time she sees one of us because I now feel the same way.  I do not want to become one of those old people that always complains.....you never come to see me......I want to be one of those old people that says...come over for dinner or I am taking you out to dinner tonight.  I think as you age and your growing and maturing as a kid....nothing is more appreciated than that occasional dinner that Mom and Dad provide.....I want to be those kinds of parents.  And....if they live far away....look out cause I am coming to visit and maybe I'll take them to dinner!!!

Saturday, October 16, 2010

My misery....

I've had a headache for the past couple of days, have been feeling generally shitty and have not been getting a good nights sleep, I can feel myself being short and crabby with people.  After the words spill out of my mouth I sometimes wince and say....why did you say that?  Then I regret it.  I say next time I am not going to do this.  I also feel myself doing this with my hubby and sons.  I feel myself being cold.  It is like there is an alien in my body and it is taking over.  If there were a pill invented to avoid this thing we call PMS....I would be first in line to take it.  I really hate who I become once a month and sometimes I think the people around me aren't liking me so much either.  It does not leave me feeling all that great about myself and I wish there was a way to change it.

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Pepe De Pew....

We had a skunk making a nest under our front porch.  We called Animal Control and they set a have-a-heart trap.  First night as soon as we smelled him we checked the trap.  He was smart.  He ate the food and didn't trip the trap.  So we tried putting trickier food in there.  Decided apples & peanut butter would surely make an animal linger.  No....he ate some apple and all the peanut butter and got out.  The next night we decided we were going to try peanut butter with dog food in a small bowl.  Hubby increased the sensitivity on the trap.  Keep in mind....the smell is now reeking throughout my entire house.....my basement.....and my front porch is unusable.  The smell was so strong it made us feel physically sick.

Well dog food & pb caught us a nice possum.  Next day they took the possum and relocated him.  We set it again.  Next day my son found someone's house cat in there...it had a collar...he let it go.  We rebated the trap and we caught the skunk!!  Although much to our dismay....he sprayed.  My house now was horrendous in skunk odor!!  The next day we caught another possum.  I never realized there was so much wildlife in our neighborhood!!!

We went down the shore to our trailer in the woods this weekend.  Spending lots of time cleaning up and getting it ready to be closed up for the winter.  For the first time in 7 years there....we smelled a skunk was in the area.  We feel like we are being plagued with skunks.  We kept smelling it just like we smelled it at home.  We sprinkled moth flakes under our deck and we are hoping ....it does not make a home there.

Pepe De Pew has caused quite a stir in my house this week........I'll never look at those critters the same way ever again!

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Decisions....

It has been my son's dream to go over to France for many many years.  He will be studying abroad for 1 semester and that begins in January and ends in May.  Of course as a Mom I have some serious worries about him going but I am truly happy for him and I want him to get as much out of this experience as possible.  I want him to see as much as he can.  He is going to college to be an interpreter and this semester abroad is important as he was told there is nothing better for you to be truly fluent than to immerse yourself in the language.  I fully support his decision to do this and I am very happy for him.

The other day my Mom called me....crying and begging me not to send him to France.  She was watching the news and the recent scares about people who are abroad are totally scaring the hell out of her.  I calmed her down, told her he was not going until January, and told her that we cannot do this.  I was going to be worried enough as it was.  I was not going to kill my son's hopes and dreams just to satisfy my own needs about worrying.  She calmed down and understood.

I understand everything they are saying about being vigilant and we plan on having a serious talk with him about this before he leaves.  We want him to be aware of his surroundings no matter where he is.....here or there...anywhere.  I feel like if we were to stop him from going we would be doing exactly what these beasts want us to do....stop living....I cannot do that.

I hope, I pray....I pray....I pray....that I am doing the right thing.

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Tragedy

My son had the unfortunate experience of losing a friend this summer to suicide.  It was painful and a heart wrenching experience for him.  He was supposed to be his future room mate in college this year.  As a tribute to his friend he is doing a walk this weekend in honor of him and the money he raised will go to a program called Out of the Darkness - a program to help reduce teen suicides.

In today's news there was another suicide at his college.  Unfortunately this child committed suicide because he was being taped while having a sexual encounter with another male (he was gay).  The video was then posted for all to see.

This is so upsetting to me.  In today's society I cannot believe that there is such a mindset toward gays.  It blows my mind.  Plus, by time you get to college....don't you realize that you are now joining such a mix of people that your opening up your world and your horizons....your mind?

The people who videotaped this have really ruined 3 families lives.  Two kids did it and they face 5 years of possible imprisonment.  Now there is also talk of possible manslaughter charges.  The family of the boy who committed suicide will never be the same again.  This is such a tragedy.

People want to blame the internet.  I do not see the internet as a source of the problem.  In my opinion, it is the same as alcohol.  Yes alcohol is bad when you abuse it but if you use it to occasionally have a drink then that is not abuse.  Part of me thinks the real problem is the kids thinking that they can do things like this and there are no consequences and it is funny?  Or is the problem that their parents never taught them to be open minded and accepting of all kinds?

No matter how you slice or dice it -- it is a tragedy -- and my heart aches for the families dealing with this.  


Thursday, September 23, 2010

Sorry.....

Let me start with a story a co-worker told....(leaving names out).  Her son went to get a hair cut....when the hair dresser got done cutting his hair she realized what a poor job she did and handed him a card.  The card from this unnamed shop was a Sorry Card.  Sorry for such a bad hair cut ....here's a coupon for another.  I still laugh and find it hilarious when I think of it.  Who in their right mind would go back to the same shop after a chop job was done on your hair?  LOL.  Anyway this leaves me to my story.  My husband usually always clips our dog but he has been very busy with work and I really would like for him to have as much relaxing time when off as possible.  The other day I got the bright idea to clip our dog myself (never having done this before...EVER).  I thought how hard could it be.  I will just give him a trim with a pair of scissors.  Well, I started and kept trimming, then I needed to even this and even that and before you know it....the dog was pretty much all clipped up.  When I looked at him I realized I goofed up.  My mini-poodle has his own look now and not such a good one.  Poor pooch I felt so bad for him I was wishing I had a Sorry Card to hand him!!!

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Word Verification...

Can someone help me and please tell me how to turn it off? I am still new to this blogging thing and really do not want it on.  Thank you!!

Posted too soon...I figured it out!  But now, I cannot figure out how to delete this post!! LOL.  Live and learn!!

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Company's Coming....

Why is it the words "company's coming" can get your house cleaned faster than lickety split!  All summer long I kept walking past the front entrance to my house and I would think I really need to pull those weeds.....but I would keep on walking. Well yesterday when I heard those words....whalah....they got pulled.  My whole house got tidied up within 1 hour and it was amazing how quickly me and the hubs could work to achieve the goal.  We decided that someone should call us once a month and say they are coming over......this would enable us to stay tidied up!!!  LOL!

Friday, September 17, 2010

TGIF!

Friday brings such joy and such happiness.  Friday is like a sigh of relief.  Friday is seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.  Fridays usually puts a little giddy-up in everyone's step.

Very rarely do you ever hear oh, yuk it's Friday.  Most people are glad to usually wrap up a normal work week and look forward to the 2 day break.  A little more sleep, a little fun....the opportunity to get caught up on chores, tasks, etc.

There are few people who are grumpy on Friday.  Enjoy the weekend.

TGIF!

Monday, September 13, 2010

Pay It Forward

I was in Kohl's shopping and had a ton of stuff for my two boys.  While in line the woman in front of me offered to me her discount coupon.  You are able to use them more than once.  I used it then got back $30 in Kohl's cash and offered it to her but she said no.  I paid it forward and gave it to someone else.  A week ago again I was in Kohl's shopping buying a gift.  The woman in front of me turned and handed me her coupon for my use.  When I finished I looked around for someone...I found a woman with kids and a shopping cart waiting to be filled and handed it to her.

This made me stop and think.  If we all took a moment each day to pay it forward in some small way....imagine how much better we would all feel about ourselves and about people in general.  It felt good for me to receive that from someone but it felt better when I was able to do it for someone else. I guess the old saying is true "it is better to give than receive" and I must say "yes it does".

Saturday, September 11, 2010

Remembering 9/11

I remember exactly where I was.  I just got my kids off to school and was home.  My house was a mess and I swore I was not turning the TV on and I was not answering any phone calls.  However........my phone rings and my girlfriend, Joanne, is on my answering machine saying 'PICK UP THE PHONE...A PLANE JUST HIT THE WORLD TRADE CENTER'.  I soon forgot about the mess my house was in.  I turned on the TV and watched in awe.  I then became worried about my husband in Philadelphia.  I tried calling him but no phone lines were going through.  I hopped on AOL Instant Messenger and got a hold of him.  We were both scared.  We were hearing rumors that they were closing the bridges from Philly to Jersey which would mean he would not be able to get home.  Plus we were scared because he was in a City...and we did not know how far this thing was going at the time.  My girlfriend Marge was at work in New Brunswick and train lines were shutting down in the northeast so she got a hold of me on instant messenger and asked me to get a hold of her husband to let him know where to pick her up.  I drove over to his house and told him since there was no communication via phone.  I then became scared.  Should I leave the kids in school...bring them home.  What do I do?  Ranges of emotions and feelings and all the while watching the events unfold on TV.  I left the kids in school and as soon as they came home I hugged them and told them about what was happening.

Yes, that day forever changed our lives.  I will never forget.  What stands out for me is not just the devastation but the vast amount of people who helped others during a time of crisis.   What good people can do during a time of crisis.  I still get choked up thinking about it.  May God Bless America!  

Thursday, September 9, 2010

Dinner...dismantled.

I needed to go see my Mom the other night so I asked hubby to please take care of dinner.  Figuring he would usually do his usual of picking up the phone and ordering I told him to grab me something and I would eat when I got home.  As I arrived home and got out of my car....the smell of fried foods was overwhelming.  When I walked through the front door the kitchen was in a discombobulated mess.  He found in my freezer shrimp (which had an expired date on them...7/1/10....and he made them).  He says taste them I think they are good.  I say...no way.....I am NOT getting sick from shrimp...no.  I then looked and during his cooking he broke my favorite I Love Lucy mug.  He then decided eating them was not a good idea either.  The house was filled with fried foods smell.  Yuk.

I picked up the phone and called our dinner order in.  LOL!  Lesson learned....call the dinner order in ahead and tell hubby to pick it up or just have dinner already in the crock pot especially during the work week!!!  LOL!

Saturday, September 4, 2010

Labor Day Weekend

Well, it's here...the last holiday of the summer season.  I am not a big fan of September.  September means  back to school, reminding kids about homework, keeping dates straight, no late nights, waking everyone on time, more traffic on the road, and it means summer carefree days are gone! Poof!

Summer is my favorite and Fall is my least favorite.  I do like the Indian Summer days but I do not like the fact that summer is gone.  I usually always feel a little depressed in the beginning of September and I always wish summer could last forever!

Maybe one day when my kids are completely grown and I am retired....I will have a new appreciation for September but until then.....gimme my summer back!

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

My son has his permit.

After several years of driving you tend to forget what "new" drivers do not know.  We have been letting my son drive for the past couple of days.  You forget that you need to remind them...move over, slow down, slow down, wait slow down, now stop, stop, STOP!  Overall he has been doing really well.  We got out of the car and I said to him "son, you did really good except for the two times I thought I was gonna die."  LOL!

Sunday, August 29, 2010

College Return

My son returned to college today.  What a big switch from last year.......

Last year I was crying every time someone even talked about him going away to school and every time I would even think about it or try to talk about it myself I was welling up with tears.  I was OK today.  My youngest said as we were saying goodbye..."your not going to cry are you?"  And I didn't ....I was actually OK with it.  Comfortable and used to it as a matter of fact.

It made me wonder.  What is making it OK for me now?  I guess the initial shock is over.  This past summer has been rough....getting him used to be home again, him getting into a little trouble here and there and generally when you have too many adults in the house.....there are lots of differing opinions.  So, collectively....this is making it OK.

Don't get me wrong.  I still felt the lump in my throat when he was leaving and I will miss his presence terribly at the dinner table and I wish we got to spend more time together as a family this summer.  But I do feel comfortable this year in sending him to college and wishing him well.

The family is changing and with that change comes highs and lows.  You have to love the highs for every moment you have them and just take the lows in stride.  Find the good in the change as it can be a growing and renewing experience for everyone.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

If only...

If only summer could last just a little longer.....

If only my son would finish his summer homework SOON.....

If only I could have a cleaning lady....

If only I could work from home in jammies and slippers....

If only I could have more hours in the day.....

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Lack of Customer Service Again

We decided for lunch today to order some sandwiches from Jersey Mike's.  I called ahead to make it easier.  When I arrived there was 1 person in front of me in the "called & ordered line"....in the "order after you arrive" lane there were about 5 people.  As I was waiting, patiently I might add, the girl who was ringing everyone up was also the same girl who was taking orders over the phone.  As she is speaking to a customer on the phone she is rolling her eyes in a fashion that was saying she could just not tolerate this customer anymore. Then a couple of times she was like "yeaahhh" in the tone of voice that says "duh" and as she did this she was making faces and looking at all the customers in the store.  I could not believe my eyes that this was such a blatant disregard for respecting your customers.....the reason she has a job.  I was disgusted by it and thought she obviously hates the customers who are the sole reason she has the job.

Today we also ended up at Best Buy, my lest favorite store, and here is why:  You walk in the door and someone is saying "hello" to you.  As you walk through the store someone is constantly saying is there something I can help you with and you have to say "no, I am just looking".  After your selection is made and you are now ready to pay there is one line open and a long line of customers waiting.  This happens all the time there.  I want to tell the guy that tells everyone hello to stop doing that and get off his duff and go wait on customers.  I just did not have the nerve to do it.  It's definitely a problem in that store.  As I was waiting I looked over to the Customer Service Department and the line was like a mile long.  Again I thought ...people are constantly coming over and saying can I help you and the guy says hello & goodbye when you leave but they let the long lines go.  What's the deal?  I really don't need someone to say hello and goodbye to me....I want to get in..make my selection and pay.  Every time I go there I see the same thing occurring.  Why don't they get it?

When are we as consumers going to start revolting against this type of lack-of-customer-service mentality?  I guess I am guilty too because I should not shop there yet I do go back.  I guess what I really need to do and I should have done this in both instances is ask to speak to the Manager of both stores and told them both that they were lacking in their game.  I hate to be somebody that is a complaining.   But I always think to myself..........why do we put up with this?

Friday, August 20, 2010

Running Away.....

I am true believer in that everything that is dished out to you is something you can handle.  But right now...I have had enough already.  When I look back starting in 09 I had my Mom who is 88 become sick with AFib and Bladder infections basically locking her to her house most of  the time, my son graduated high school that year and then left for college (which was a major adjustment for me....I am thankful to say I am used to that now), I injured my back last September and was out of work for three months, my brother was diagnosed with brain tumors, my Mom continued to need more help, between my Mom and my brother there have been a lot of highs and lows, this summer my son came home from college and got a job and then recently getting laid off (which is fine because he is close to going back to college anyway), just prior to that his college roommate committed suicide, and this summer he had two incidences of being in the wrong place at the wrong time and getting in trouble for it.  I am crying Uncle!!!!!

This weekend we are all going down the shore together as a family and I plan on resting, relaxing and enjoying each others company......I am turning off my cell phone and escaping from the rest of the world because this is what I NEED to do!!!!  I am running away..............and escaping reality because I have had more than my fair share of reality recently.  Goodbye, Adios!

Monday, August 16, 2010

I am looking for....

......an amusement park for adults and instead of soda and cotton candy they sold margaritas and martinis.  How many people do you think would go?

Thursday, August 12, 2010

I really need to start.......

getting more organized.

I am going to try and let you know now and again something I really need to start ....please feel free to share tips or tell me what you really need to start.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Lack of customer service.

I am noticing a trend more and more these days and I must say I do not like it.  When I was a kid the saying was "the customer is always right".  It seems we have lost our way and we have totally forgotten what that means exactly.

If you are in the service industry then you would not be in business without your customer or your client.  Today it is the norm for a sales clerk to be rude, half pay attention while waiting on you, texting on their phone and then "oh your here", or busy talking with their co-workers.  What has this world come to when the customer has moved to the back burner?

If you have ever had the opportunity to call a State Office, Township, Federal Government or any School, College or otherwise then you will also understand what I am talking about.  You almost have to beg them to help you.  But the what they are missing is....if it weren't for the tax paying citizens they would be out of a job!  You would think this would make them syrupy and sweet?  I do not find that to be the case.

I don't like to generalize because not all the time is it that way and I know there are people who cater to their customers and I love when I find them.  YOU are what makes me keep coming back.  Those of us who LOVE great customer service need to honor those businesses and leave behind those lacking in caring or showing respect to their customer.

Sunday, August 8, 2010

What If.........

Everyone smoked and threw their butts out the window – would it be considered littering then?

Saturday, August 7, 2010

Why?

Why do people keep implying that schools no longer say the pledge of allegiance?  I have been in the schools and they do this all the time.  So why may I ask....why are people saying otherwise?  Does anyone know?

Friday, August 6, 2010

What's happening......

This past month has been extremely busy.  I will give you a recap below.

1)  Joined the Y & started swimming 5 days a week.  Best thing I ever did.  Not only am I losing weight but that horrible migraine I usually get did not happen in the past month.  Plus it is helping me manage the stress.  The Y gets an A+.  :-)

2)  My darling son got into a little bit of trouble down the shore.  He got caught with an open bottle of liquor with a rather large group of kids.  (no driving was involved, Thank God)  Of course he is 19 and all the others were 17 so the 19 year olds got the ticket.  After much hassle and aggravation about that it cost us $253.  The ticket (or my son) get an F for that.  :-(

3)  My computer died...it just got a virus and decided it would not work anymore.  An F+ there.  I did, however, get a new Macbook Pro....that gets an A++.

4)  Went to a wedding for my hubby's niece...it was beautiful and everything was creatively done.  Cudos to her...she is a beautiful girl.  She came down the aisle to a Beatles song....awesome, every table was marked by a Beatles album, just so cool and they played some great Beatles music.  It was outside under a tent and the weather turned out perfect for it.  They wrote their own vows which were heartfelt and very touching.  You could tell they are made for each other.  I see a lot of qualities in them that I do in my own marriage and it made me feel good.  A++ for them.

5)  My son's future college roommate committed suicide.  This was horrible.  I was imagining the pain his parents and family must be in and for the past week it just made me cry.  I also was feeling awful for what my own son was going through.  Dealing with a death at his age (19) is not unusual but usually that person is either sick or old and it is somewhat expected.  When your dealing with the death of a peer  it can be very difficult to understand and especially one where someone takes their own life.  He attended the funeral yesterday and I am glad he did.  I think when something like that happens you need closure and grieving time.  He called me after and told me he talked to his parents and it was extremely hard.  I know that attending was difficult for him but he is glad he did it.  (No grade here....it cannot even be measured.)

6)  Finally after extreme business...we are back down the shore.  Regrouping, chilling, relaxing, and destressing.  It is much needed after everything that has recently happened.  This gets an A++.

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Looking for motivation....

I think I am in a slump.  I am looking for motivation.  Motivation to write and even motivation to read.  I have just not been in the mood lately and I don't know why.  I have not even felt like reading lately.  Hopefully my slump will be short lived and I will be back............eventually......

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Sleep......a necessary thing...

We have had relatives in from out of town and it's been great seeing them and having some great late nights kibitzing together, sharing desserts, beers and a few good laughs.  There is nothing like it and I love seeing them.  My only problem is if I do not get proper sleep I am a cranky, tired, not well focused girl who is just drooping and dragging herself around which is where I am at right now.  The desire for sleep is so strong it is all I can think about.  I think about the comfort of my bed, the softness of my pillow, my favorite jammies, and my coziest covers.  My hubby says I am seriously sleep deprived.  Today is Wednesday but my plan already for the weekend includes sleep and naps and dozing and cat naps and more sleep.  And maybe some snoring!!

Friday, July 9, 2010

The Curse

My hubby's birthday was yesterday and for his birthday I got a Y membership for the whole family.  Something he has been wanting for a long time.  Plus, if the whole family uses it...it's a major plus if we all get in shape.  It was great because I got to swim before work and I loved it!!  Great for exercise and stress!

But yesterday my dearest friend (the curse) arrived.  Ugh...you know, THAT time of the month.  I was gonna go to the Y today...but she had other plans for me.  I awoke this morning feeling crampy, dizzy, and feeling sick....why I say, why do you do this to me when I am getting my rear in gear to do something good?  Why do we women have to go through this?   I wish there was a button I could push which means "curse, I am done having kids so I am done with you and I am turning you off"....wouldn't that be nice?

Thursday, July 8, 2010

What would you do?

What would you do if..... someone kept letting their dog poop on your lawn and they don't clean it up?  It did not just happen once or twice...we are talking like six times now so this is no accident.  We have a security camera but we have not caught them in the act yet....but I wonder what do we do if and when we do?

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Day 10, Prep Work

Spent the last day of vacation getting ready for the work week.  Had grocery shopping to stock up on and a gift to purchase, etc.......it felt like impending doom was coming and lurking all around me.  LOL!  It was so stinking hot you could not do much other than shop!  Supposed to be 100 today!!  Not much more to say other than....I guess...I am prepared to go to work today....at least I am well rested. 

Monday, July 5, 2010

Day 9, Happy 4th of July FireworkLESS

So here it is the celebration of Independence Day....one of the nations proudest days.  Our town, like most others across America, felt the pinch this year when the pulled the plug on our fireworks and parade.  Now, unlike most towns, our town always did it the week after anyway.....and we called it Freedom Day, a day filled with parades, events and fireworks but the damn recession bit our town in the ass and it's not happening this year.  This 4th of July we went to a small picnic at a relatives, enjoyed some good pool time and then headed home.  I was worn out and headed to bed before 11 but I did turn on the t.v. and watched on t.v. as Philadelphia celebrated in style.  It was a mob scene but my heart wished I was there....even maybe from a distance watching....I was glad I watched as Philly is this nations birthplace and they really did it in style!  Yay Philly!

Next week, July 10, would normally be our town's Freedom Day and although the plug is being pulled...we are saying the hell with you and celebrating anyway with our usual big picnic at my in-laws house....there will be no parade and no fireworks but there will be a lot of good people having fun and celebrating anyway.....so go ahead recession do your thing but this family is gonna celebrate our Independence anyway!  Hope everyone had a Happy 4th!

Sunday, July 4, 2010

Day 8, Reality is getting closer

Woke up on Day 8 and the heat was on!  If your watching the news you know the northeast is entering into a heat wave.  My youngest son who has been a great sport all week asked us if we could head home....and so we did.  After all, this would give us time to relax before heading back to that nasty thing called "work", visit with a relative who is in from out of town, and chill out with some relatives for the 4th.  All in all not bad, but not the fun-filled dream world I was living in.  Wake up girl, reality is just around the corner.

Friday, July 2, 2010

Day 7, Tour De Shore

Today was my first day back on my bike since I hurt my back (back in September I had sciatic nerve pain which turned into nerve damage and out of work for 3 months).  Hence, you can imagine my hesitation to get back "in the saddle" again.  I was told I can give it a go but go easy to start.  So today I went.  We have this great road down here called Dock Road.  It's like taking a ride back in time...all the houses are on this marsh overlooking the bay and there is a constant breeze and all the homes are the older shore homes on stilts.  I love that look.  Believe me big, new and beautiful is great too....but I have a sweet spot in my heart for the older shore home.  So away we went down this road.....grand total it was a 7 mile ride and I did well.  No pain which was a big relief.  The reward at the end is a beautiful view of the bay>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Nice gazebo to get out of the sun:


After the ride we hopped in the pool and this was the view......I am not sure what I am going to do when I have to return to reality next week. 

Day 6, Shore Bliss

On Day 6 we decided we wanted to eat at our favorite eatery in Barnegat, NJ...Kelly's Old Barney Restaurant...has by far the best Manhattan Clam Chowder EVER. Check it out:  http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=kelly%27s+old+barney+restaurant&fb=1&gl=us&hq=kelly%27s+old+barney+restaurant&hnear=Manahawkin,+NJ&cid=6657329880141686855

It was late in the afternoon when done but we decided to make a quick trip to the beach.  It always turns out that those quick trips are the best.  The water was crystal clear...it was low tide and you could go out forever.  I actually got in the water and it was sooo warm.  We stayed even after the lifeguards left sunning ourselves and just enjoying the beach itself.  That night we played Phase 10 card game and we all laughed so hard that I thought I was gonna pee myself.  It was a GREAT day and I slept like a log.  I just had to share with everyone the clarity of the water in the picture below.

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Day 5/One step ahead...two steps behind

Today we woke up and I decided my hair was getting on my nerves.  I quickly called a local hair salon and planned on being there as soon as I could....one I had never gone to before but I figured "hey, it can always grow back!"  (It turned out well by the way.)  Hubby decided he was getting back on his road bike.....to ride 50 miles!!  Needless to say, I was done way ahead of him so I was going to get all of our laundry done....and after a few trips to the laundromat (in our campground) I was feeling good like I was getting something done.  I also decided to "dump" our toilet ...(in a camper you have to fill it with water and then let it run out a couple of times to totally clear it)....I only had time to do it once in between laundry visits so on my last stop home I turned the water on.  Forgetting about the water filling the toilet....I ran to see if my hubby exhausted from his ride wanted a lift home from the entrance of the campground until our campsite.  We returned and sat down.....when my hubby says "why do I hear water running"....I scream OH MY GOD!!....the water was running all over the trailer.  I spent the next two hours using the wet-vac and clorox cleaning everything.  I try, try, try to get ahead and see what happens.....ugh...what a mess!  Anyway, we managed to get it all taken care of and then realized it was late and we needed dinner.  For a quick dinner, we had a Marie Collander's Southwestern Style Chipotle...excellent dinner when you need something fast!  This dish & corn chips....were delish!!  I would recommend it!  Looking forward to a better tomorrow.  :-)

Day 4 Vaca/Kicking it into gear...

On Day 4 I got up later than I wanted to but happy to have the good sleep.  I asked my hubby what we should do and he was seeming like he did not feel the way he usually does during vacation...he was a little bummed.  I asked him if our oldest son (19) not being with us was bothering him...he really did not say but I suspect that was the problem.  He managed to get motivated to build us a bike rack at the campground out of pvc and of course I was the helper (more like the watcher or the hand me this/hand me that girl). 

He had some inspiration which was very good I might add.  First time I ever tried this Shock Top Belgium White Beer and I loved it with an orange slice in it:














I must also give a good review of  Off's new fan product.  I must say it works wonderfully for mosquitos but not so much for the greenheads.  For those of you who do not know...greenheads are these annoying biting green headed flies which are native to NJ (only certain portions).  Be glad if you don't know them.  But, hey if you know mosquitos...this is worth a try.  Here is what it looks like:

I don't know about you but I hate putting mosquito spray all over myself and I usually don't because I just don't think its healthy to spray that stuff on you...at least with this little Off Fan...your not spraying the stuff on you and your just hanging it off your pants or belt loop or something like that.  It works!!!







Well after the Belgium White and the new Mosquito Fans....we had a good end result and I think hubby felt good again and is ready to kick start this vacation into gear!

Monday, June 28, 2010

Day 3 of Vacation

I figured out today that I need to make the plans or say what we are doing today because if I don't.....I think my men will be nothing but couch potatoes all day long.  LOL!  Today it was hot as hell when we got up so I declared it was a beach day.  We are only 12 minutes from the beach.  We headed over there...all of us thinking in reality it was going to be so hot we would not be able to stand it....but as it turned out when I got out of the car there was a really nice cool ocean breeze blowing and it was wonderful.  I was glad.  I did not want hubby or son miserable and grumpy just because I absolutely love and adore the beach and I was dragging them in God awful heat.  Waves were perfect and tide was low so there was this great low tide allowing you to pick up shells and wade in small amounts of water.  Years ago we went to the beach with the kids and they gathered 300 shells....my son decided today that we would break that record....and we did...307!!!  It was a fun afternoon and we all had a good time.  I will have to start thinking about the "plan" for tomorrow.......I feel like the Activities Director.  All-in-all ....a sweet day and for some reason....even though I did not "swim" I am exhausted now.

Vacation Day 2....

I usually wake up early and allow the men in my life to sleep....reality is I tip toe around and try to keep them asleep and bask in the quietness.  LOL!  Anyway, yesterday I decided to get everyone up and moving (not really early)...we were out the door by 12 but for us...that's pretty good.  We decided it was going to be an out to brunch day and then do some shopping.  It was super hot so shopping was super cool with all of us.  Rolling in and out of each of our favorite stores...we were relaxed and had lots of time for window shopping, Starbucks...all of our favorites.  While we were in one store my son says to me "wow, look at this section over here" I said "wow, this is a Big Dick's".  About two seconds after I said it the two of us looked at each other and cracked up laughing.  It was one of those priceless Mom moments.  Overall it was a good day and we ended it with a nice grilled dinner and a Mojito.  I have the best bartender in the world.  :-) 

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Green Thumb Interrupted

I have no green thumb by any stretch of the imagination but this year I thought I would attempt to grow tomato, pepper and cucumber plants down the shore.  I was so proud of myself because usually my green turns brown and poof they are dead but this time my plants were thriving.  Until.....we came down and noticed much to our amazement....something is eating my plants...even the ones in the pots.  Our suspicion is that the deer are coming in from the woods and eating them....my plan is to catch them in the act this week.  So far...I haven't caught them.  Here is what they did:

 Cucumber before......................and cucumber after. 

 Tomato before........................and tomato after. 

You get the picture.  I am in search of the plant thief this week.  One thing that is good...at least someone appreciates what little green thumb I have. 

Saturday, June 26, 2010

Day 1 of Vacation...

Today we decided it was a "decompress" day...no plans, just chilling, napping, relaxing....basically doing nothing and we were enjoying it. If you remember about a week or so ago I told you our oldest son was vacationing by himself at a shore house with friends. He was on the road today. We were just starting to wonder if he had arrived safely so I texted him. The phone rings and it is him. He is in a bit of a panic.....his friend's tire blew out and they did not have a spare...what should he do. I handed him over to my hubby, fixer of the problems, and my son is nervous and panicked so he is not being very patient...my husband is nervous and panicked because he is worried are they in a safe location....they get a little testy on the phone with each other. Why do they get testy with each other? Because while my oldest may look like me, he acts like his father. The youngest looks like my hubby but he acts like me. And we all know how two personalities are when they are alike....now, don't we? Funny. I find it very very funny. Anyway, all in all it was not a bad day. My son arrived at his destination safely...thank you AAA and we had a nice dinner tonight....shrimp appetizers, mojitos, grilled chicken, corn...,mmmmmmmm.

My Youngest is Driving...

We have entered a new era yet again. My youngest son turned 16 this past week and received his Permit. Yikes!!! I am getting OLD! All week long he has been talking about driving our Dodge Ram Van (LARGE) down the shore on Friday night. As each day passed I thought there was no way he was actually going to go through with this because it was so big and bulky and my oldest son when he drove absolutely rejected any idea of driving such a vehicle. Friday came and he still had the sparkle in his eye. Now keep in mind...this is the first time my husband and I are driving with him and the drive takes about an hour and 15 minutes. Dusk was approaching as we were leaving later than the usual and I thought he was going to say no, but his determination took over and behind the steering he placed himself.

I said a little prayer "Oh God..we are on vacation next week, please do not let us 'miss' this vacation and by the way God, I do not want to spend a week in the hospital. Love, Me."

Much to our amazement and surprise he did really really well and we were quite comfortable with his driving. He adjusted rather quickly to the bulkiness of the van and drove like a pro. Now and again hubby gave him a few pointers but overall I was very relaxed and at one point I even shut my eyes for a mere second (because I was tired...not out of fright).

As with any new chapter in a kid's/parent's life their comes more worry and more independence. This next year he will still "need" us to ride with him but when he turns 17 and gets his license and can "let loose"....look out because I think he will be out and about and leaving Mom and Dad behind.

All of this teenage driving made me think....wasn't life much easier in the "frontier" days when all they had to do was show their kid how to get up on a horse?

Friday, June 25, 2010

Taking care of our elders....

We are preparing to be on vacation next week and I usually stop to see my Mom (88) at least once or twice a week. Since I would not be seeing her next week I called her yesterday and told her we would go out to dinner. She was excited/thrilled to go. She is somewhat restricted at home because she cannot drive anymore and uses a walker. After work we picked her up we had her help us decide where to go...we ended up at Longhorn Steakhouse. We enjoyed Watermelon Margaritas, appetizers and a nice steak/seafood dinner. A good time was had by all. She really appreciated being able to get out of the house. Sometime if your thinking of what should I do today?.....take the time to have a meal with the older person in your life...they really love the company and appreciate getting out. You also can be guaranteed to hear some good "old" stories and to get some "good" advice. Take the time to remember.......it makes you feel good and leaves them feeling better. :-)

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Father's Day...

HAPPY FATHER'S DAY!

We spent this weekend down at our trailer doing things with both of our sons. Yesterday we spent the day in Atlantic City strolling the boards and doing some shopping. That evening we went out to dinner at my son's choice (because his birthday is tomorrow) and we had a good time. Last night my husband was transferring all of our home videos onto a hard drive so we don't lose them and we both spent 2 hours watching footage of my oldest son at age 1. I found this quite fitting considering it is Father's Day today. Doing this took me back to my own childhood and remembering my Dad and how what he did as a Dad formed me to be who I am today.....today I see some of these same qualities in my own husband and I am thankful that he has shaped our children (16 and 19) into who they are today. The job along the way was not easy and I think we both provided a nice balance with each other. As I watch them enter into adulthood I am very proud to say they are mine. They will make mistakes along the way themselves but my hope for them is that they have the pleasure of being a Dad (like when they are in their late 20's!) so they too can feel the pride we have always felt for them. I tell them all the time "wait until your a parent and you will understand"...they laugh when I say it but some day.....my words will come back to them and we will all laugh about it together. I thank my honey for all he has done for the kids....I could not ask for better.

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Beef Jerky


Anyone who has ever had boys, or even men in their house, knows that with them comes beef jerky. It's like a necessity, a staple, and a main food group. LOL. Needless to say my "men" love having it. Of course, my youngest has a tendency to leave a package laying here or there just as he always does. I woke up the other morning to discover the package was torn apart to pieces......poochie found it laying around and decided to devour it. Funny how those packages always come with that little white silicone pack that says "do not eat"....I've always wondered why you would put something like that in with food but anyway....the dog ripped apart the whole package and low and behold he did not eat the silicone gel. Either it did not smell good enough to eat or our dog is just smarter than we give him credit for. We're chalking it up to the latter and maybe he can even read. :-)

Thursday, June 17, 2010

I am the Negotiator....

Shit's been happening lately and I don't like shit. I am not a person who likes drama, confrontation or anger....it's not my nature so when those things come into play in my life it makes me feel unsettled and probably because I like everything smooth....flowing like water.....easy pieces. When things are not smooth I feel so unsettled like there are constant butterflies in my stomach along with a big knot......wish it would make me not eat...then maybe I would lose weight!!! No such luck there! I know it can't always be smooth sailing but I am happy that right now my shit has settled down and things have been smoothed over. I sometimes feel like Kevin Spacey in the movie Negotiator.......working both sides. Maybe someday if there is ever a "situation" they can call me in....after all, I have the skills and experience and I could probably talk somebody down!

Saturday, June 12, 2010

Not what we planned ......


Our plan for today was breakfast, Best Buy, PetSmart and Flea Market then out to Chinese Buffet for dinner then a movie. We made it to breakfast, Best Buy and PetSmart. We got to the flea market when my honey decided that he did not like where our van was parked...he found a better spot. My son and I preceded looking to see what good buys or deals we could find. I love flea markets cause I am always looking for the "deal" of the century. Have I ever found that deal....no, but I know it's out there. Anyway, my hubby was taking longer than usual and I thought he was just being too particular about where to park...he tends to do that from time-to-time.

Finally, I spot him....calling him over.....oh no, he has a look on his face I recognize...a look that says...there's a problem. He tells me that our brake line on our van just broke....we are about 50 miles from home and about 7 miles from the trailer. We decided to try & call a car rental. Enterprise & Budget are not open on Saturdays...oh great. We then decided to call the local Dodge dealer to see if we could have it towed there.....Dodge dealer not open on Saturdays. Finally we got a plan together and that plan involved having my sister (who lives about 10 miles from the flea market) come and pick me and my son up and my husband would go with the AAA driver back to our home garage. Thank God we have AAAPlus and they will tow up to 100 miles!!! So he went with the van.

Me and my son went with my sister who was taking us back to the trailer to spend the remainder of the afternoon until hubby returned with a working car. We get to the trailer to discover I do not have a key. Key is with hubby who is already in tow truck heading towards home. So, we camped at my sister's for a few hours and watched the World Cup and my oldest son picked up my hubby at the garage and got him home to pick up our car. Definitely not what we planned today but really not all that bad because we had options open to us. Thank you big sister for living close to where we spend time playing & when we were in trouble you bailed us out. That is what Big Sisters are for, isn't it?

Poochie



Last night on our way down the shore we stopped at the store and my hubby and son ran in while I waited with the poochie. While we were waiting...he cried and cried and watched incessantly at the door where they went in looking for them. It made me think...what is really going through his little mind. Where did they go? Are they ever going to return? Did they leave me forever just with Mom? He was so intent that I could barely get him to turn around so I could snap his photo. Look at his little face looking at me...it's like he is saying..why are you interrupting me from intense watching to snap my photo?

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Growing pains...

Recently we have been talking about vacation and what should we do. As always..it's time we always look forward to. My son, who is home from college now, was trying to let his summer employer know what days he needed off....as we were talking he informed me that he was taking his "week" with his friends at a house on the beach. For a moment....I felt a pang in my heart and it sank...I realized that he is growing and moving past the fun little family vacations we used to take together......For a moment...I felt just like I did back in August when he left...eww it hurt.....For a moment.....I felt sad........Then I got past it and realized I still have another younger son to take with us and possibly a friend. And recently my husband and I have had a couple of great weekends together alone and while we were alone I did realize that eventually when both kids are gone I will be OK.....we will be OK. But for now as my kids move into their own adult lives I must admit.....the growing pains hurt. :-(

I got this in an email...but like it & had to post it:

This should be posted in schools>

Rule 1
: Life is not fair - get used to it!

Rule 2
: The world doesn't care about your
Self-esteem. The world will expect you to accomplish something BEFORE you feel good about yourself.

Rule 3
: You will NOT make $60,000 a year right out of high school. You won't be a vice-president with a car phone until you earn both.

Rule 4
: If you think your teacher is tough, wait till you get a boss

Rule 5
: Flipping burgers is not beneath your dignity. Your Grandparents had a different word for burger flipping: they called it opportunity.

Rule 6
: If you mess up, it's not your parents' fault , so don't whine about your mistakes, learn from them.

Rule 7
: Before you were born, your parents weren't as boring as they are now. They got that way from paying your bills, cleaning your clothes and listening to you talk about how cool you thought you were. So before you save the rain forest from the parasites of your parent's generation, try delousing the closet in your own room.

Rule 8
: Your school may have done away with winners and losers, but life HAS NOT. In some schools, they have abolished failing grades and they'll give you as MANY TIMES as you want to get the right answer. This doesn't bear the slightest resemblance to ANYTHING in real life.

Rule 9
: Life is not divided into semesters. You don't get summers off and very few employers are interested in helping you FIND YOURSELF. Do that on your own time.

Rule 10
: Television is NOT real life. In real life people actually have to leave the coffee shop and go to jobs.

Rule 11
: Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.
If you agree, pass it on.
If you don't agree stick your head in the sand and take a deep breath!
If you can read this ... Thank a teacher!

I just need to add 2: Family comes first and Respect your elders.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

BP.....


I have been watching day after day and newscast and after newscast as they show the oil spewing into the ocean and how the leak has not been contained as of yet. I feel like it is so unresponsible of BP to not have contained this leak yet. In my opinion they have no right drilling unless they have completely effective methods of containing a leak....methods that have been tried and tested. Watching my beautiful ocean turn into a dump is making me feel sick. BP...you need to come up with an extremely effective measure of cleaning this up and you need to do it quickly. I cannot bear to see any more pictures like the one here. Get it together or get out of the business.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Anniversary...Happy Places....Good times...

This weekend in a nutshell was wonderful. My husband and I celebrated our 26th anniversary. We decided to kick it off with a trip to the racetrack which while it was fun, did not prove to be very fruitful.......no money won but we had a great time. We went on a Friday afternoon and discovered that we were the youngest people there and it made us feel like spring chickens ....which is not bad! The weather was gorgeous and we had a great time.

After that we went down to the trailer. The serenity there makes me feel so relaxed. I realized that this weekend besides celebrating the anniversary also included all my favorite places. When I arrive at the trailer it is like my body takes a huge deep breathe and lets it out. Very quiet, comforting and relaxing.

I actually planted plants this year and for me....that's a huge deal. I was amazingly surprised to see how well they were doing. Usually I have what I would consider a brown thumb....not a green one. I have received many plant gifts over the years only to watch them die.....I know they need water...I know they need TLC.....but plants are just not my forte......it's just another thing to be taken care of and when all is said & done as far as importance is concerned it does not rank high on my list. So...imagine my amazement and surprise this weekend to see my plants doing so well. I planted a tomato plant, pepper, lettuce and cucumbers...I figured if this all works out...we will have a salad! There is always the possibility that some wild animal will find my plants and eat them...and if so,...that's OK.

Saturday we went to our favorite eatery for lunch which we have been going to since we started dating. Barnegat has a great little restaurant with the best manhattan clam chowder....it is actually very close to my father-in-law's and that is really saying something cause his rank's as the best in my book! After that we spent about an hour or so on the beach....to me this is the best. Listening to the waves crashing on the beach is so calming...I could sit there for hours....it was so hot (95) and the water was so cold (58) that we could not do hours...plus there was no wind but the time we were there was relaxing. I love watching, listening and smelling the ocean.....

That evening we had the most delicious dinner ever in A.C. It was at a really nice restaurant that has been around since 1912. Valet service....excellent food...excellent drinks! For the first time I had a watermelon martini and it was delicious. We wrapped up the evening with a walk on the boards and my first purchase in a Lush store...which sells the most nicely scented soaps I have ever smelled.....all natural products.

I am blessed and lucky to have had this weekend and I hope my hubby knows how forever grateful I am for having spent it and the last 26 years with him. :-)

Sunday, May 30, 2010

In the middle of the night...

Came down to the campground this weekend looking for some serious r-n-r. Needed to get away and leave the troubles at home and rest....really really relax rest and enjoy the weekend. Friday we spent at home to celebrate my son's 19th Birthday. We all went to dinner and had a nice time. Came down here Saturday afternoon and had a real nice dinner. Cocktails first of course with appetizer then followed by lamb chops .....mmm everything was scrumptious. Nice camp fire afterwards to relax next to and the evening was exactly what I needed. My hubby (for the first time in a long time) drank a little more than usual and felt the effects that evening but all was well. We drifted off into a sleepy slumber to be awoken by what sounded like 3 gun shots! It scared the bejesus outta me...I was thinking some raving maniac was in the campground and was shooting at all the campers!! Then we heard it 2 more times...both times 3 shots each!! Then it stopped. Well, needless to say...getting back to sleep was not easy. Therefore, we did not get up until almost 10! Walking our dog in the morning we checked with the campground owner and he told us it was fireworks and those people (outside of the campground) have done it before.......ugh...stupid idiots!! And, as a result I have spent this day feeling lazy and tired due to someone's stupidity of setting off fireworks at that hour of the night. I am all for fun and all but past midnight and your just ticking me off!!! Plus your really screwing with my weekend.........fireworks...no later than midnight ......pleeeeeeeeease!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Things I liked about today...

Things I liked about today......

Getting results from medical tests and they were all good!
Getting to work late (medical tests) and having the day fly by as a result.
No hassles today at work.
Driving my hubby's Jag (don't tell him...I always tease him & tell him the car is lame).
The cool large hail thunderstorm that just cropped up....love the excitement it stirs up.
Being the assistant to fix the lawnmower and having it work this time.
Ending the day with a martini.

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Receptionist


I am about to rant.......there is something that bothers me time and time again. Who decided it was a good idea to get rid of the Receptionist and replace it with the electronic device that answers the phone with a series of questions......if you want sales press 1, if you want service press 2, if you want to speak to billing press 3, if you need to hear our address press 4 and so on, and so on. Sometimes what you want is not in any of those selections and they do not always give you the option to select O for Operator! There have been times I have been so frustrated I have tried every number in an attempt to get to a live body....and then when you do you feel like you've won the lottery!!!

I miss the days when a Receptionist would answer the phone and direct your call to the best possible person who could handle it. I am happy to say I work for someone who has a Receptionist and who will direct you to the person who can best help you depending on your problem. I suppose this electronic answering replacement device was an attempt by the large companies to "save" money and what they did not think about when they made this decision was would it increase the "happiness" of our customers? I will bet almost anyone you talk to today will tell you that they HATE those automated answering devices. My happiest vision would be a big VIP Exec. calling his insurance company or health benefits company to find something out and hear ......Press 1, Press 2, Press 3, Press 4, Press 5, Press 6,.....etc.

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Ideas...


I woke up in the middle of the night the other night and had this great idea for my blog. I thought wow...that is so good I am going to write about it in the morning. I woke up the next morning and could not remember the idea!!! Ticks me off cause I still can't think of it. So from now on I am keeping my IPhone next to the bed and when I have an idea I am going to jot it down on my phone! Now, I am praying the great ideas come back........maybe it was something I ate that night that spurred the idea in the middle of the night....but for now I will just have to wait until it comes back...........

Thinking....

Having a health issue right now. Went to the doctor today because it seems like I am having an issue with my breathing feeling heavy. BP was good and the EKG was good too, oxygen was good too. Need to go Monday for stress test & chest x-ray. Need to rule everything out to get to the bottom of it. Anyway, when I came home I was telling hubby and my son about my visit. I told them that the doctor asked me if I was "stressed" and I said "no more than usual". They both corrected me and told me that I should have said yes! This made me stop and think.....wow, I must be stressed. I guess when you think your handling it or just doing what everybody else does....maybe your not. It's time for me to stop, re-examine the causes of stress and take time to really think about how I can reduce it because when it starts making your health suffer....it's time to do something about it. This is something that won't be fast or won't be easy to do but I will have to do my best to either learn how to manage it better or by making a change. Before I come to any hasty decisions I will, however, find out what the results are of the medical tests I am having. However, I will now start examining the stress in my life and see if there is something I can do about it. Of course, it would require change and change is never easy.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

I will.....

I will always start each day with a smile.
I will always begin each day with a good attitude.
I will try to see the good in everyone.
I will try to do some form of exercise everyday.
I will have faith.
I will always see the glass half full.
I will try to laugh everyday.
I will try to turn lemons into lemonade.

Monday, May 17, 2010

Weddings.

Had the pleasure of attending a wedding this weekend. I love weddings and I love everything about them. I love the way that the couples choose to have their ceremony, their vows and the place in which they choose to do so. I love the dresses...everyone always looks beautiful. I also love the guys all dressed up in the tux...they look so handsome. When you look in the face of the bride and groom it cannot help but make you think of your own wedding day and all those feelings you had at that time too. The emotions.....oh sooo many emotions......happiness, joy, mixed with bouts of crying...not sadness just emotional crying. It makes you feel very nostalgic....thinking back to my own wedding day and all those that were there then that are no longer with us now. It makes you think....the things that happen in your future as a couple are what shape you for how you are today and with each passing event you become a stronger couple because of it. If you started out knowing all of this at the onset you would not have the experience of growing together. Growing together is the glue which holds the relationship together along with lots and lots of love and lots and lots of laughs. I suppose I enjoy the wedding so much because I have such a solid relationship with my husband. We love each other a lot and we laugh, we do things together and basically enjoy most of the same things. I am blessed.....and I suppose this is what the wedding does for me...reminds me once again of how blessed I truly am. :-)

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Disorganization...


Lately my own disorganization has been driving me crazy. I've been trying to figure out what the problem is and even if there is a fix for my problem. My days go something like this....Monday through Friday...wake at 6am, get hubby and son up, laundry, dishes, son to school, return home to get ready for work...then I leave and return around 6, figure out dinner..make it and we eat about 7...exhausted I plop on the couch then head to bed later to start the cycle all over again. I am looking for a good answer as a better way to get myself more organized and have a house looking clean more often than not. Weekends when the weather is nice is spent down the shore at our trailer which is much needed after a week of stress. Weekends when the weather is bad is spent here catching up on what I am not getting to clean or shopping that needs to be done. I'm caught in a circle and I don't know what to do to get out......I'm getting dizzy. LOL!

Saturday, May 8, 2010

A Mother's Love...



I originally planned on cleaning the house today and working on getting myself organized because my disorganization is starting to drive me crazy. My plans were thwarted when my youngest son was invited to run the 200 in the County Divisionals for Track. We went to the track meet and had a great time watching him compete and he did his all time best for time and came in 2nd in his heat. I was proud and felt very good about how well he did....my heart swelled with pride. I will spend another day maybe in another life time working to get organized but for now I am taking the time to smell the roses...enjoying the time that I am spending with my kids....and loving every moment of it. My oldest son came home from college this weekend and I am very grateful to have our little family of 4 back together again. He is doing really well in college. My two boys are turning into 2 fine young men and they make me very happy to call them mine. On the eve of this Mother's Day....I feel very blessed....very very blessed. Organization is just going to have to wait for when I am old, gray and have nothing else to do because for now....I am enjoying my kids despite the work that needs to be done around the house!

Monday, May 3, 2010

Cell Phones...

I love my cell phone...I truly do.

What I am about to rant about is the rudeness that others display with their phones. Your on the elevator...get off the phone...others do not want to hear your conversation. Your at work..turn the phone on silent...we all don't want to hear your music ring playing....and the more it plays the more people are aware of just how many personal calls you are getting at work! Your at the restaurant ....unless your child is sick or your house is on fire...do you really need to take that call and have everyone hear your conversation....go outside to take your call..please! Your in the store checkout lane and have the phone plastered to your ear...empty your cart and get off the damn phone!

Maybe I lead a life that just does not have that much drama that I do not need to be on the phone so much~let's hope the trend continues. I will take the boring & mundane rather than having a cell phone ringing off the hook with drama, drama, drama......there's enough shit that gets dealt out throughout life and sometimes I feel like I just do not want to always be so reachable. I want to be reachable when I say so.....on my call....when I feel like it.....when I want you I will reach you and until then........

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Giving back.....


Today was a day of service. Service to our parents. I spent today running errands for my Mom....to the bank, to the drug store, getting her lunch, take out trash, dishes, little tidy here ...little tidy there simultaneously my hubby spent the day installing a pond for his parents. Not a very relaxing day but certainly fulfilling from the sense that we are giving back to those who spent so much time giving to us. Giving.....caring.....sharing...... I hope and pray that one day when I am old......yes, when I am old...I am not old yet......that my kids take care of us as well as we have our own parents.

Monday, April 26, 2010

Monday


This is what Monday does. It totally zaps every bit of energy out of your body so that you finally cannot go on anymore. On Monday's I wake up tired and look to the caffeine for a lift...when the first cup does not work..a second is a must. By mid-afternoon you frequently check the clock and feel as though it must have stopped or it is moving backwards..because you know over the weekend the clock moved much faster than this. When 5 hits...it's time to head home...dinner and a little tv. I decide to lay down to watch tv. Big mistake. Before I know it I am out cold and totally miss the show I wanted to see. Monday....Monday....why do you do this to me?

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Doggie Tantrum



Last night we decided to chill out after a rough week with drinks and dinner......we left and our son decided not to go with us cause he was at a friends. We gave the dog a bone (see how cute he is right there) and said our goodbye to him. We offered him one last "out" before we left and he refused. We thoroughly enjoyed our drinks (cosmo and gin martini) and our dinner (scallops & filet & surf & turf) and we even decided to stay for coffee and dessert which we rarely do. But, we needed the relaxation and this dinner was exactly what the two of us needed after a week of shit pouring down on us. We were happily heading home. We came in the door and our son came home at the same time as us. Then I saw something on the floor...it looked brown! Damn...I said that dog must of laid a turd. Well when we turned the light on...he did not just lay one turd...he laid about 3 or 4!!! We then realized he peed too and our son stepped in it. Ewwwwwww we were all hollaring. We then were busy cleaning everything up and then I looked in our bedroom and the dog intentionally knocked over our trash can and took every tissue out (there were ALOT of tissues) and tore them up. This is when we realized this was no accident...this was the dog saying how dare you leave me!!! You left me here and I did not want to be here!! A doggy tantrum.

This morning we woke up early and while I was getting ready I looked over to see "the face" looking at me and watching me get ready. We go to breakfast on Sundays and now as we are preparing he has that look that says go ahead and leave...go ahead and see what you will come home to. I will keep you posted and let you know if that little black ball of terror strikes again. LOL....poochies gotta love those little personalities!!

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Ready to spring into summer......



These are some of the pretty signs that spring is here and summer is around the corner. The sun is shining, the air is warm. It's time for a new beginning and a better day/week ahead! I love spring and I love summer even more....looking forward to weekends down the shore, martinis outside, and food on the grill. Just the thoughts of it all...make me smile. Bring it on summer...cause I am ready for you!